Finding a Diet That Worked For Me

When I decided to start losing weight in January, I thought that my first step to achieving my goal was to start a diet. I tried Slim Fast, Atkins, the Special K diet, the Yogurt diet, I even tried some diets that I came up with. I never saw results with any of those diets. Then I learned something that changed the way I looked at dieting. The key to losing weight isn’t to be on a diet, its to embrace a healthier way of eating. I found that restricting certain foods or calories left me feeling hungry for what I couldn’t have. But, I found out that you can lose weight and still eat! You don’t have to cut back on your eating necessarily, just change the unhealthy foods to healthier ones. I began using MyFitnessPal. If you haven’t heard of it, it is a website and app that allows you to track the food and drinks you consume each day. It shows you the Calories, Carbs, Fat, Protein, Sodium, and Sugar in every food or drink that you log. I saw that I was consuming way too many calories, too much sugar, too much sodium and not enough protein. I also saw that I wasn’t drinking enough water…honestly, I wasn’t drinking any water. By looking at the information on MyFitnessPal, I was able to make changes in the way I ate. Now, something that you should know about me is I am a very picky eater and I can’t cook. So, finding things that I would enjoy eating and be able to prepare for myself was a difficult thing. Like I mentioned earlier, the diets that I tried didn’t give me results. The diets that I created weren’t very healthy. I ate hot dogs, then fat free hot dogs, sandwiches, ramen noodles, etc. Obviously none of that was healthy. I sought advice from my boyfriend who knows a lot about nutrition and exercise, my friends that had lost weight through changing their diet, and researching diet and nutrition on the internet. I added protein shakes, fruits, vegetables, and whole grains to my diet. That too was a process. I had to find a protein shake that I enjoyed drinking because, just to be honest…some of them aren’t very good. I had to find a salad dressing that I enjoyed. I can’t eat salad without a good dressing. I started with Thousand Island, then Fat Free Thousand Island, then Honey Mustard and I finally stuck with Lite Raspberry Vinaigrette. My experience with dinner went from chilli cheese dogs (with whole wheat buns of course) to Lean Cuisine Meals. Then I began eating salmon with corn and tomatoes. I learned that I needed to consume protein after my evening walk. so I broke my dinner apart. I had the tomatoes and corn pre-workout and the salmon post workout. I found that I didn’t like the salmon very much, so I exchanged it for Peach Greek Yogurt. I also added what is considered a good carb to my pre-workout meal. I started with sweet potatoes and honey and ended up with brown rice. I then began drinking 12 cups of water a day. The end result? I now have a diet that is healthy and delicious. I will show you what my personal eating schedule looks like.

I wake up and drink two glasses of water

I have a protein shake after my morning walk

Three hours after my protein shake, I have a salad that consists of spinach, 1 slice of sharp cheddar cheese, 4 slices of turkey, and 2 tablespoons of Lite Raspberry Vinaigrette.

I have another protein shake after my workout.

Three hours after that I have corn, tomatoes, and brown rice

Finally I have my greek yogurt after my evening walk.

This particular diet isn’t for everyone and I know that there is room for improvement, but I have lost 10 pounds by sticking to this diet and working out three times a day. This was tailored to my inability to cook and my dislike for most foods. The important thing to take from this is to find a healthy diet that you love and can stick with. Consistency is key.

4 thoughts on “Finding a Diet That Worked For Me

  1. Howdy! This post couldn’t be written any better! Looking at this post reminds me of my previous roommate! He always kept preaching about this. I’ll send this information to him.
    Fairly certain he’ll have a great read. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

